Cedar Rapids mayoral candidate earns national honor

Lemi Tilahun named 2017 Champion by Progressive Change Campaign Committee

CEDAR RAPIDS — Lemi Tilahun, a candidate for mayor of Cedar Rapids, was named a 2017 Champion by the Progressive Change Campaign Committee, which recognizes candidates from around the country who are fighting for progressive priorities and looking out for the needs of everyday families, according to a news release.

Of the hundreds of candidates running for numerous positions across the country just more than 50 have been named 2017 Champions.

“Our 2017 Champions across the country are committed to solving big problems affecting their communities,” said Kait Sweeney, the press secretary for the Progressive Change Campaign Committee. “Selected for their bold vision, these candidates are highly capable leaders ready to make change.”

“The candidates on our Champions List are running great campaigns powered by the grass roots, not corporate interests,” added Stephanie Taylor, co-founder of the Progressive Change Campaign Committee. “We’re proud to support them as they take power back for their communities and turn big ideas into action.”

Tilahun said he is honored by the recognition for a campaign built on visions of affordable housing, public transportation and expanded roles for youth leadership in Cedar Rapids.

“I am running for mayor because I believe in the power of youth to bring positive political and economic change to this city,” Tilahun said.

The Progressive Change Campaign Committee is a million-member grass roots organization working at the local, state and federal levels, and advocating for economic populist priorities like expanding Social Security, debt-free college, Wall Street reform and the public option.

Tilahun is one of eight candidates seeking the mayor’s seat in Cedar Rapids. The other are Kris Gulick, Brad Hart, Gary Hinzman, Scott Olson, Tim Pridegon, Jorel Robinson and Monica Vernon.
The Gazette